Decent Power Unit?

Blubble37

Ohai dere c:
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
2,401
Reaction score
9
Location
GB
What is the highest wattage rating for a computer power unit?
 

walkers101

Fortune favours the brave
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
2,036
Reaction score
0
you mean the highest rating of a psu i believe they are at 1600w at the minute but unless your running crazy you will need nowhere near that
 
OP
Blubble37

Blubble37

Ohai dere c:
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
2,401
Reaction score
9
Location
GB
1600W, right.

Thats not bad...

The other (parents) pc runs off of a 1500 Watt pcu so 1600 should be enough for what i will be putting in there (a lot of things XD)
 

walkers101

Fortune favours the brave
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
2,036
Reaction score
0
i would be interested to know what your putting in to require 1.6 kw of power
 

hanny93

Fish Herder
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
1,143
Reaction score
0
Location
GB
and what would a 13 yr old be putting in a computer that would need that amount of power?

edited to add this isnt a dig at you being 13, i just cant imagine my 13 yr old brother needing that much power for his comp!
 
OP
Blubble37

Blubble37

Ohai dere c:
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
2,401
Reaction score
9
Location
GB
and what would a 13 yr old be putting in a computer that would need that amount of power?

edited to add this isnt a dig at you being 13, i just cant imagine my 13 yr old brother needing that much power for his comp!


gaming comp with loads of hdd space, 2 disk drives and the mother of all graphics cards with a quad core processor
 

walkers101

Fortune favours the brave
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
2,036
Reaction score
0
and what would a 13 yr old be putting in a computer that would need that amount of power?

edited to add this isnt a dig at you being 13, i just cant imagine my 13 yr old brother needing that much power for his comp!


gaming comp with loads of hdd space, 2 disk drives and the mother of all graphics cards with a quad core processor
So basically what i run on a 800w psu? i think 1.6w for what you need is serious overkill but if you have the cash then go for it

quad core, 8tb of hdd (5 drives) gtx 460GS GLH 16gb of ram
 
OP
Blubble37

Blubble37

Ohai dere c:
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
2,401
Reaction score
9
Location
GB
pretty mch what i was planning on, but i wanted loads of power for extra leeway to put more things in... if needs be

Have you got the 5hdd's compiled into one or seperate?
 

BigbruiserAl

I ain't gettin on no plane fool
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
2,572
Reaction score
0
Location
Darlington,UK
lol 1.6 PSU what you on mate, I have built more custom pcs then i had hot dinners, my own runs a i7(1366) at 4.3GHZ HT on, 8TB 4x2GB HDD 1 SDD & ATI 6970. Asus Xonar Essence Thats on 750w. Do not skimp on the psu i would rather have a 750W top brand then a 1400w non branded rubbish :good:
 

nigsy

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
You could always mod the case and add a second dedicated PSU for the Hardrives / Optical drives - Then run the GFX cards and MOB off the original, that would give you 3200watts; unless you also want a mainframe and server that should suffice!!

Seriously, I have a decent setup with i7, multiple 1tb drives etc and run with a Corasir 850w.

There are loads of power calculator out there:

PSU Calculator

That's just one.

As already stated, it's better to have a solid 750/850w psu than a flakey 1600w.
 

Tech-Frog

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Location
GB
I've run 'Mother of all Graphics Cards' and quad-cores on 400W or less. A 1600W power supply is going to set you back over £200, and it's a massive waste of money unless you're running FOUR high-end graphics cards with dual processors and 24GB+ RAM. Basically, you don't need one. You probably want about 600W or less.
 

trending

Members online

Top