Cycle progress

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Galvin88

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys
Just a quick post, I need help on the progress off my cycle and how it's getting on.
I'm new to the test kit part and would just like a bit of feedback on how it's looking with the test and what I should do next, IE if I need to do a water change or not.

Attachments

• IMG_20201231_182305.jpg
    IMG_20201231_182305.jpg
    220.5 KB · Views: 62
If the ammonia is as green as it looks in the photo, yes you do need to do a water change.

Your pH is well above 7.0 so any ammonia reading above zero will have some on the toxic form. I can't tell from the photo whether the high range pH is 8.0 or 8.2 but at that level you need to keep the ammonia level at zero.

[Ammonia testers test total ammonia, which is ammonia and ammonium added together. The amount in each form is pH dependant. At low pH it is virtually all in the non-toxic ammonium form while the higher over 7.0 it is the more that is in the toxic ammonia form]

If the ammonia is as green as it looks in the photo, yes you do need to do a water change.

Your pH is well above 7.0 so any ammonia reading above zero will have some on the toxic form. I can't tell from the photo whether the high range pH is 8.0 or 8.2 but at that level you need to keep the ammonia level at zero.

[Ammonia testers test total ammonia, which is ammonia and ammonium added together. The amount in each form is pH dependant. At low pH it is virtually all in the non-toxic ammonium form while the higher over 7.0 it is the more that is in the toxic ammonia form]
The pH looks 8.2 and the amonka I think was around 0.5, what percent water change should I do to get it to 0?

As much as necessary. Since 50% will get it down to 0.25, I would do around 75% at least.