Converting to Plants

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

jaywings19

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I have been keeping fish for almost 2 years now, but never did a planted aquarium. I always felt that I wanted to be a successful fishkeeper before becoming a successful botanist. :lol:

I am starting to consider taking the plunge into a planted aquarium... well, not literally plunging into the aquarium. :rofl:

I have a 72G (US) bow-front tank that is currently inhabited by the following fishy friends:

Discus - 3 (Medium/Large)
Rummynose Tetras - 7
Cardinal Tetras - 4
Bolivian Ram - 1

Here are the tank features and parameters:

Temperature - 83-84F
pH - 6.6
Substrate - Fine black gravel
Decor - Fake plants (hence this topic)
Light - 30W (this is what came with the tank package)

The reason that I'm considering the live plants now is to help control the Nitrate level in the tank.

Here are my questions:

1. What type of plants would do best in my tank especially considering the temperature?
2. How much lighting would I have to upgrade?
3. Potted/Unpotted... fertilizer/tabs... etc.??? I have no clue about this stuff. :blink:

Please keep in mind that I'm brand new to live plants. I've been trying to read through the topics in this forum, but have trouble applying them to my own situation. Some of the planted aquarium pictures shown here are incredible... and I'm extremely jealous. :p

Your help and knowledge will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Here's a link that discusses high temperature plants.
http://www.thekrib.com/Plants/Plants/hi-temp.html

I'll list them here.

Anubias barteri
Anubias barteri var nana
Ammania senegalensis
Barclaya longifolia
Echinodorus bleheri
E. quadricostatus
E. tenellus
Hygrophila corymbosa
Ludwigia mullertii "Red Ludwigia"
Microsorium pteropus "Java Fern"
Rotala rotundifolia
Shinnersia rivularis "Mexican Oak Leaf"
Vesicularia dubyana "Java Moss"

Hygrophila polysperma
Aponogeton crispus