Congo Puffer Spieces Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

reeeedfish

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
What is a good US gallon size tank for ONLY 1 Congo Puffer. And what should the set up be. I'm new to puffers, Please Help Me.

A tank around 140 liters/37 US gallons should be the minimum

Hiya here is some info as found it: I would say 120 litre/ 30 us gallon. These get to roughly 5-6 inches. Need a really good depth of soft sand as will spend most the time buried, though it will vary from puffer to puffer. Tropical and needs good filtration. Leave open spaces for burial, and have bogwood/ pebbles and plants etc for comfortable surroundings. Tank mates are definate no no as these are lurkers and ambushers. Depending where they come from may have to be trained onto dead foods. Staples can include lance frozen fish, mussel, earthworms, river shrimp. Some feed feeder fish but from reading this is really not essential. Weekly water changes are essential for these messy fish and don't expect them to feed everyday due to inactivity. Hope this helps a little!

Hiya here is some info as found it: I would say 120 litre/ 30 us gallon. These get to roughly 5-6 inches. Need a really good depth of soft sand as will spend most the time buried, though it will vary from puffer to puffer. Tropical and needs good filtration. Leave open spaces for burial, and have bogwood/ pebbles and plants etc for comfortable surroundings. Tank mates are definate no no as these are lurkers and ambushers. Depending where they come from may have to be trained onto dead foods. Staples can include lance frozen fish, mussel, earthworms, river shrimp. Some feed feeder fish but from reading this is really not essential. Weekly water changes are essential for these messy fish and don't expect them to feed everyday due to inactivity. Hope this helps a little!