Complete Newbie

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Arcticfox1977

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi to all members.
I decided to buy our kids a fish tank. We have bought a 95l tank with a starter kit.
I've rinsed the gravel well bought a few decks and washed well. Filled the tank to the recommended level. I've let the heater adjust before turning it on along with out filter and light. Everything has been working great. I've added a de-chlorinator and a bacteria solution to the water. I have added the bacteria for the first three days as recommended on the bottle. On the third day the water has gone slightly cloudy. After reading this forum and TTF, it looks like its a bacterial bloom which I guess is good for a new tank with no fish. Is this correct?
Also do I need to keep adding the bacterial solution EVERY day?

Yeeeas. That is a bacterial bloom. Nothing to worry about.

Urm. The bacterial solution usually has a course. Like Day 1, 3 and 7 or something. 
yes.gif

Thanks for the rapid response. I am following the dosage on the bottle. It has nothing after day 3, so I guess I won't add anymore till I get my water tested.

I am surprised your tank became cloudy as that does mean there is a bacteria bloom, and those things don't often work. Getting your water tested won't help, because there is nothing to increase your levels so of course your levels will be good. What you need to do is get a bottle of ammonia that doesn't bubble when you shake it and add 4ppm and see if it can get it down to 0 in 12 hours. If it can then your good to get fish and if it can't than you need to continue to add 4ppm every 12 hours until it reaches 0.

Sorry for all the questions, but I have a slim marina20 filter that came with our tank. I noticed it has 4 slots for cartridges but only came with 2, should I buy another 2 cartridges or just leave it with 2??

Arcticfox1977 said: