Cleaning Gravel Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

tune29

Reaction score
I have had my tank running for about 6 weeks now and done water changes weekly.
I am new to this and would like some advice please. I have not cleaned my gravel as i was told
the filter will sort out the fish waste. However i am unsure if i am to clean up the mess within the gravel.

If i am has anyone got a guide how i am to do this. I have a 60 litre tank with gravel.

I think 1 of my corries is getting ill from the waste

6 neons
2 honey gourami
2 platies
2 pepered corrie

Thanks

hi
smile.png
i do a gravel clean once a week
smile.png
.... using one of these
smile.png
http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalog?q=gravel+cleaner&hl=en&rlz=1C1CHFX_en-gbGB493GB493&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.&bpcl=38897761&biw=1366&bih=653&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=10763997026945528082&sa=X&ei=xqSvUPDGKuil0QWp2oHoAQ&ved=0CGgQ8wIwAA im not sure who told u not too but im certain you have been given the wrong info .. fish waste /food can get in deep in the gravel so a good clean would be better for a fish
smile.png
just too say ur better off getting a large one ..soz the link i showed u is for a small one
smile.png
ebay has some good prices
smile.png

I would not be surprised. If the gravel in rough in anyway their barbels will wear away. Dirty gravel will cause cory's barbels to become infected. The Corydora catfish should be in shoals of 6+ comprised of their specific species.

If i take this gravel out and by a more suitable substrate what would that be?
If i do a change will ths affect my good bacteria built up?

If i take this gravel out and by a more suitable substrate what would that be?
If i do a change will ths affect my good bacteria built up?

i have just changed my gravel over from a biggish gravel to a finer gravel.. and it shouldnt do ur bacteria any harm ..bacteria is in ur filter media
smile.png