Can Use My Freshwater Filter For Saltwater?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

GrassHopper

Reaction score
Hi All! This is my first post here. May I ask if someone could help me with this question?

I am a saltwater newbie but have successfully maintained freshwater tropical fish for four years. I have chosen to now tackle saltwater.

My question is this: Can I use my EHEIM PRO2 2026 for my saltwater tank? What precautionary steps should I take before converting my freshwater setup into a saltwater? I had planned to clean the tank out with ammonia and water, rinse, then dry. I had also planned to do the same with my EHEIM filter. Should I chuck out the old mech media or just rinse it? Do I need to use a different type of filter media because of the saltwater environent?

Here's my current setup:

42 Gallon Oceanic Freshwater Tropical Hex on Oak Stand. (currently empty)
Large majestic castle ornament in middle of tank.
Eheim Pro 2 2026 Canister
130 Watt Coral Life Lunar light w/ 2 LED's.
Inline, out of tank heater

I may consider live rock or coral but for now I am thinking about maxing out with 5 3" fish in my current tank with live plants. I'll be doing plenty or research before I take this on and I do realize that this is a new and more difficult enviroment then freshwater. Currently I trying to figure out what I will need to BUY that I don't have. i.e. Protein Skimmer, Live Sand, Salt, Instrument for measuring Salt Content (I forget the name of it), etc...

Thanks in advance!

Well, I'm a saltwater newbie, so please take my advice with 1.002 SG.