Can I Wait To Add Fish After Tank Cycles?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

EGFishKeepers

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I'm doing a fishless cycle of a new 29 gallon tank.  Tank has been set up 26 days.  My current reading is:

Ammonia = 3
Nitrite=.25

I last added ammonia 2 weeks ago.

I'm expecting it to cycle anytime.  We're planning a dwarf puffers tank and maybe a couple of small plecs or otos.   but I'm not sure I can get puffers until perhaps weeks after tank has cycled.  Is this ok?  Do I have to keep feeding ammonia and doing water changes?  Should I add oto cats (if I can find those) and maybe a couple of small plec to produce ammonia naturally?

Thoughts?

Thanks

dj

I can't comment on your stocking plans as I have no experience with those fish - however you can keep the tank bacteria going by giving them the occasional snack as suggested by TTA in his article or you could add a couple of fish at a time, but only once the cycle is complete. I wouldn't try to fully stock immediately - personally I'd add them slowly to give the bacteria you've so carefully nurtured in the cycle to acclimatise to the new stock before adding more - usually a week or 2 in between additions. Each time you add any stock keep an eye on those water parameters to make sure the bacteria are coping.

If you last added ammonia two weeks ago and it is still at 3ppm I would say you are not near finished cycling yet.