Bottom Dwellers with Flora Base Pro Substrate

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Wells

Fish Fanatic
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
Hello All!

I'm new to aquarium keeping, I recently bought a Fluval Flex 57l and used Flora Base Pro substrate with a few plants and some driftwood. I started with Harlequin Rasboras and was intending to introduce some tetras and Corydoras down the line (now leaving the tetras and increasing the school size of Rasboras), but from research, it seems this substrate may not be good for them and sand is suggested for them.

I've tried my best at searching the internet for suggestions but am struggling, so hopefully, someone can help.

What bottom-dweller fish would do well with this type of base? Are shrimps/and or snails my only option?

Thanks again.

could you let us know the GH (general hardness) and PH of your water please? I assume you use tap water and so this information should be available to you from your water supplier's website. Different fish thrive in different parameters.
Meanwhile I'll have a read up on that flora base pro substrate.

All Corydoras do require a fine smooth sand substrate. Not only is there a barbel erosion issue, but they are by nature filter feeders, taking in a mouthful of sand, filtering out food, swallowing the food (with some sand usually) and expelling most of the sand through the gills. Rough substrate material can obviously cause serious issues, and larger grain sized material cannot be filtered.

Another issue with many plant substrates is bacteria. Sand is a better substrate for the normal decomposition of organics. Ingredients in plant substrates may be detrimental here too. And most of these are too rough (regardless of how it feels in your hand, I fell into this trap some years ago and nearly decimated my cories).