Blue Diamond Shrimp "Berried" Listlessly Sitting On Bottom (Neocaridina sp)

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Uberhoust

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I am new to keeping shrimp. I have 11 shrimp in a 10 gallon tank. The tank only contains shrimp, plants, and some copepods. Parameters as follows:
  • pH 6.6
  • NH3 0 ppm
  • NO2 0 ppm
  • NO3 <5.0 ppm (not zero but not 5 either)
  • gH 60 ppm
  • kH 0 ppm
  • 23 degrees Celsius
I have had the shrimp for about 2 weeks, all the shrimp swim about "normally" and seem to always be eating, I have had several molt successfully, and no mortalities. I have added a recently added shell to get more calcium into the water.

This afternoon I noted that the berried one, came from the store that way, is just sitting on the bottom of the tank and not moving much. The eggs seem quite large, but I have nothing to gage that with. She is not eating and has her abdomen arched upwards so that she is like a shallow check mark. All the other shrimp are still acting normal, again I don't really know what normal is but they swim to a leaf, pick some algae off it for a while, then move to another. I feed them tetra flakes, cucumber, algae, of those algae is the most popular. There is visibly algae on the plants, the tank has been running for about 4 months.

I don't know if the female's behavior is normal or not, she might be molting, or the eggs might be close to hatching, maybe she is old and the carrying of the eggs is too much. I am hoping her behavior is normal but I cannot find any reference to how a berried shrimp is supposed to behave. I am already attached to these little creatures and would like to see her survive.

Tried to take photos but they did not turn out because of the lower light.

I am just looking for suggestions as to what I should be watching for, or things I might do.

The pH might be too low.