Betta + other fish?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Fish Meister

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the fish world! I currently have a Siamese Betta fish whom I just adore, and have recently purchased a 45L biOrb Life (+ a heater) for.

I wanted to get him some companions, so I looked online and thought that a sailfin pleco and maybe half a dozen cochus blue tetra fish would be nice. I've read that my Betta won't try to eat them, but is 45L enough for them? I want to include some live plants in the tank too.

Thanks!

Hi! Your tank would be just over ten gallons, which unfortunately is not enough space for the pleco. I’m not sure on the tetras, space wise, but I know that bettas often do best on their own. Due to their aggressive and solitary nature it can be very risky giving them tank mates. Shrimp and snails would really be your best bet! A lot of people put their bettas with Pygmy cories, but in that tank size I just don’t think you would get that level of enjoyment from them. If I were you I would look into cherry shrimp, they’re colorful and adorable, and most bettas do pretty well with them!

You could do something like a couple of nerite snails, or a colorful mystery snail. The pleco would be a big no, since sailfin plecos get 12 in and larger. Maybe khuli loaches would work?

Of course, this is all depending on your gh and ph.

Hi, I'm new to the fish world! I currently have a Siamese Betta fish whom I just adore, and have recently purchased a 45L biOrb Life (+ a heater) for.

I wanted to get him some companions, so I looked online and thought that a sailfin pleco and maybe half a dozen cochus blue tetra fish would be nice. I've read that my Betta won't try to eat them, but is 45L enough for them? I want to include some live plants in the tank too.

Thanks!