Betta looks very unwell.. help??

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Diamond21

Reaction score
Hi!
I bought a super delta on sunday, monday night I noticed he was covered in what I can describe as white bits of grit/spots all over his body. I'm new to all this, so researched and found it was ick! I have started treatment, using the api super cure ick, just waiting 48hrs to put another dose in. However, yesturday I noticed he was swimming strangely, and would swim to the middle of the tank and then would just nose dive to the bottom. From late last night and till now he is hiding and wont come out. When I look he is on his side and breathing really fast. I have rang the place were I got him from, they told me to check my ph levels because they have found the water in my area has been quite high lately. So I have just checked. My test results were
Ph between 7 and 7.2
Ammonia none
Nitrite none
Nitrate 5.0ppm
They told me that the fish would of been fine from them and its maybe my water. I dont know what's gone wrong. My tank is now under treatment, I have left my neons in there because I was told the whole tank could be infected now. They are completely fine.

Any suggestions or help would be welcome.
Thanks

Test results sound good.
Can you post a photo of the sick fish and the tank please?

Luckily I have never had ich, but I have noticed most people on here advise to simply turn the temperature up for a fortnight as the pathogen cannot survive heat.

If it's something else though, some people have suggested heat will make it worse (though the human immune system gives us a temperature for a reason)