Best Fuse For Fish Tank Heaters?

techen

Wolf Overlord
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
3,279
Reaction score
7
Location
GB
So I got some heaters off someone but only one had a plug with no fuse in it. Now I know heaters are quite power eaters so am curious as to what kinda fuse I need to use with them.
 
At the mo I rewired one with a 13amp fuse in it and it's working. It's a 150watt heater, Is this safe or should I lower the amp fuse?
 
Also what kinda fuse amps would suit a 100 and 300watt heater.
 
OP
techen

techen

Wolf Overlord
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
3,279
Reaction score
7
Location
GB
That's all I needed to hear then, I'll stuff a 3A in it instead of a 13A :p
 

RCA

Fish Herder
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
77
Location
GB
I believe it is about 3amps for stuff in water, but I am no electrician.  I got a heater once without a fuse in the plug when I bought a second-hand tank.  I decided to chuck the heater as I thought if it hasn't been working there is likely to be a problem.  Sad thing is, fish came with the tank!  Hopefully this is not the case with yours.
 
OP
techen

techen

Wolf Overlord
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
3,279
Reaction score
7
Location
GB
The heater wouldn't work when I first opened it, He had wired it all wrong and so I rewired it, thrown a fuse in and it's now working. It looks brand new too, Lucky he didn't kill it with his bad wiring...
 

RCA

Fish Herder
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
77
Location
GB
Phew...
 
I just know I had a power-head that kept blowing fuses so I put a 5amp in!  I was advised to return it to the 3amp and if it was blowing there was a reason!  Bit of a "muppet" thing to do really
huh.png
.  Since bought a new power-head
happy.png
to be on the safe side.  Water and electricity - hmmmm - I know we have to be careful.
 

DrRob

It's life Jim, but not as we know it.
Retired Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
4,854
Reaction score
25
Location
GB
Watts = volts x amps. If you're in the UK you're 240V, so a 13 amp fuse will allow up to 3120W, or 3.12kW. For 300-400W you're fine with even 2 amp fuses as the fuse needed is Watts divided by volts, so 400\240=1.66666.
 

RCA

Fish Herder
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
77
Location
GB
Great to know - cheers DrRob
 

N0body Of The Goat

Oddball and African riverine fish keeper
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,036
Reaction score
18
Location
GB
DrRob said:
Watts = volts x amps. If you're in the UK you're 240V, so a 13 amp fuse will allow up to 3120W, or 3.12kW. For 300-400W you're fine with even 2 amp fuses as the fuse needed is Watts divided by volts, so 400\240=1.66666.
 +1
 
So a standard UK 3W fuse should be used for anything upto 3x240volts (720Watts) in a UK standard 3-pin plug.
 

Most reactions

Top