Are These Suitable Fish For Beginner?

DanS

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all,

Here's the details, 60 litre tank (16 G), complete beginner but doing lots of research.

I want a very natural looking aquarium - live plants, rocks, wood and will cycle it hopefully fishless cycling so i'm some time away from getting the fish...... but obviously i'm thinking about it!

So i've never kept fish put thought it would be good to start with some Platys once the tank has cycled, say 6...

The other fish i'm interested in keeping is some kind of Hatchetfish - The Marbled Hatchfish seems a suitable size... Maybe 3-4

Finally, a single Siamese Fighting Fish (male?)

So total 11 fish for the 60l tank - too many?

I know the final two aren't the easiest to keep for a beginner, but i don't want to stock up with fish i don't want?!

I also did think about some kind of catfish instead if they're all bottom feeders to occupy the bottom of the tank, but don't really know much about them.

Any thoughts on the fish above as a group and ease of looking after? Should I go for something a little simpler etc.? Also any advice of types of plants would be gratefully received.

Cheers

Dan

Only fish i wouldn't put in there is the fighter. even platies would find the flowing fins too much of a temptation. Male fighters should really be kept in a tank of their own. I've never kept hatchets myself. As for the stocking levels you'd still have room for a few corys to scoot around the bottom of the tank, but keep them in a group of at least four.