Anyone Breeding Uaru

June FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Scleropages

Reaction score
For more extensive information on uarus, visit the Uaru forum, a site dedicated to the Uaru and it's rarer cousin, the Uaru fernandezyepezi

Anyone here breeding Uaru's?

I have been keeping and breeding Uaru a's for about 8 years and was an active member on the now defunct Uaru forum during the last year or so of its existence. I have one pair left that recently started laying eggs and I pulled them (and the rock they are on) and put them into a hatchery tank. As I had done in the past with good success preventing fungus growth, I put an airstone blowing bubbles over the eggs. In less than 24 hours, fungus started to cover the eggs.

Any suggestions for preventing the egg fungus besides the air stone and using methylene blue?

When I use airstone alone I always get a ton of fungi. Methylene blue should help a lot.

This is speculation, but the parents would have neither airstone nor methylene blue. They pick off the fungusized eggs as soon as they can. IME it's usually a few eggs get fungusized first, which then quickly spreads to other eggs. So maybe picking them off yourself would be helpful?

I'm curious - how much success have you had with taking eggs out? The fry are supposed to feed off the parents' slime coat, just like discs.

I found that fungus comes when you have a bad egg that's not picked off. I would leave the eggs with the parents they will eat the bad eggs before they bring fungus to the rest. Do you keep them with other fish and your scared the other fish will eat the eggs? Only time I got fungus was when an egg went bad and I did not get it out in time. I have not used any treatment just clean water and air stones. More water changes would help.

How big of a tank do you keep them in.

Welcome to the forum.