Another Newbie Seeking Advice

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

mdskids

Reaction score
Hi there.  Newbie here, so please be gentle!

I’m just starting to set up a tank for my daughter, and was looking for some advice.  I was given an approx 80 litre tank (all we have room for I’m afraid), which now has in it well washed aquarium sand, tap water, dechlorinator, and a handful of easy/low light plants (Hygrophilia, Cryptocoryne, Anubias).  We’re eagerly awaiting the arrival by post of a Fluval U2 filter and API master water testing kit so I can start a fishless cycle.

In the meantime, we need to make some decisions about fish!

I like the idea (financially!) of running a temperate (ie indoor unheated) tank, maybe with the following:

1 Paradise fish
6 White Cloud Mountain Minnows
4 Peppered Cory Cats

I’m not sure about the Cory Cats, because I’ve read conflicting things as to whether they
are suitable for an unheated tank.  Our house is old with thick stone walls, so although it’s not that warm, the temperature is fairly stable.

Alternatively we could go down the tropical route (which my daughter would clearly prefer)
but at a fairly moderate 72F/22C, in which case, we might get:

1 Betta
6 Neon Tetras
4 Peppered Cory Cats

Any comments on these stock selections?  I realise that I’m probably pushing the limit of what we an put in a tank of this size, but it’s a compromise between having some variety and a reasonable shoal size.

Any  alternative suggestions for a solitary ‘big’ fish in the tropical set-up?  What about
an equally colourful alternative the Neons, as I understand they are not so easy for a first tank?  Are 4 Cory Cats a big enough group size?

We’re in West Cumbria, so we’re a little limited to suppliers, so our choice may well be
limited – these is a LFS nearby which I haven’t been to yet (Aquapets), failing that, there is a Pets@Home and a Dobbies not too far away.