An understanding of fish evolution (and other stuff)

elephantnose3334

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I have lots of questions.

I'm one of those few teens that like fish a lot. Following my dad's (he was a young boy when he kept fish and gave up on them) footsteps of being a fishkeeper. I understand that there are hard things regarding the hobby, but learning about fish evolution is harder for me. I never heard about the evolution of certain aquarium fish before. Freshwater fish evolution would be a new topic for me on the aquarium hobby. For example, rainbowfish. Some said they evolved over 10,000 years from marine ancestors. It's weird that evolution of freshwater fish usually comes from the marine ancestors but I'm still learning as I go through years of the hobby. Regarding the rainbowfish, what did the marine ancestors look like before they died out and evolved to the rainbows we know today? Are there scientific breakthrus on aquarium freshwater fish evolution for a while? The other things I might ask is how do some aquarium fish have unique adaptations to go through life? Or maybe how did the fish evolve to become schooling fish? How did South American tetras evolve on what they are today?

I am interested in fish because they're interesting animals and they're mostly easier to care for than most pet mammals i.e. cats and dogs. I have an understanding on how to look after them and currently keep two species of tetra in a 40L tank. My mistake, but I was a beginner and I should know better. How do fish communicate to each other? I don't hear most species communicating each other in my POV.

And finally, native fish I haven't heard of before. I heard of the salamanderfish before, but not the nightfish, a WA native. Have the nightfish been bred in captivity? What are some other natives I haven't heard about? I fear that the local government might do the wrong thing on the native fish again.

Thank you.