An Absolutely "smacking Myself" Stupid Question

shmee

Reaction score
How, How, How, How HOW am i supposed to know if my fry are actually eating?
I have brine shrimp waiting to hatch so until that happens i was given some Liquifry food from a friend to feed them. They seem to be happy swimming around and strangely seem to prefer me leaving their lamp on in their tank (though i am told most killifish dislike bright lights i mostly use it to see them better when feeding or cleaning) the problem is.. i can't tell if they are eating, sometimes it looks like they are when they gather near the feed but most of the time i can not tell, as i am a complete novice to all this it means i may ask stupid questions and often :X

If they are in fact not eating, how long would it be before they die from starvation?
If they are not eating, is it because they don't like the food, can't find it, or something else?

One other dumb question. The tank i have is only a 6ltr tank but for their size at the moment i am not worried, i have a spare incase need be. It has a pump but should i wait until the fish are larger before i use it? (Has a fear it will eat them alive if they get too close to it so i haven't put it in yet!)

I had more questions but i have forgotten them...oh and the fish are Nigerianus (Misaje) ( and it's impossible to find internet-info on them) so if you could throw any tips or info at me regarding the type i would be forever greatful :D

Yeah, i feel really dumb but everyone has to learn.

The only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask, so don't be afraid to come forward and seek answers.
You have Fundulopanchax gardneri Misaje.
There will always be something in the water for the fry to eat so no real worries there as Brineshrimp will only take around 24 hours to hatch, so you have plenty of time.
You will know when they eat brineshrimp nauplii as their bellies will be pinkish/orange and pretty well rounded.