Ammonia In The Tap Water

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

fish_food

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to fish keeping and I have a query about water quality.

My current set up involves a 100L tank containing 1 bubble-eye goldfish and a small pond containing 5 goldfish (a mix of orlandas and regular goldfish).  I've had some trouble recently with ammonia poisoning with my bubble-eye, and have discovered that Sydney tapwater is treated with chloramines.  This poses a problem, as when I test it straight out of the tap, it registers as 0.5 ppm for ammonia!  I treat my water with Seachem Prime, and after testing the treated water, it drops back down to 0.25ppm.  I've tried rainwater in the past, but that also registered at 0.25ppm.  I was wondering if anyone else has similar problems and could offer me some advice.

It's not unusual. Chloramine is one of commonest forms of chlorine treatment now, and it's very effective at getting the chlorine to the tap with the least fuss, so the water companies are unlikely to change in the near future.

With regards to ammonia poisoning, even a large water change at that level is unlikely to cause a significant issue assuming the filter is properly established, it'll be another source creating the issue. The commonest are stirred up mulm in established tanks, things dieing around the back of things in heavily decorated tanks, or, most common of all, overfeeding of fish, particularly messy ones like goldfish.