Amazon Puffers Erratic Swimming

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

tropicthomas

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this hobby and have recently been experiencing trouble keeping my three amazon puffers happy and healthy. Recently, my 30-gallon tank with three amazon puffers and 4 neon tetras has been infected with ich a month ago due to a new fish being introduced (without separating it in a quartine tank when it came home). I treated the entire tank, raised the temp, and all seemed well. No sign of any more ich however 2 of my neon tetras, unfortunately, passed away. After this, I noticed that the tank had hydra about 2 weeks ago. I started to see my puffers acting weird and I noticed white tentical-like things along the glass right away. So I treated that with this amazing product "no planaria hydra killer". All the hydra now seems to be gone on day 4 of using it, however, the fish still seem to be swimming erratically. Not like when they had ich, but rather smashing into things and swimming mainly against the glass. They also sometimes swim in circles around the heater and will dart around like they are really stressed. I don't see anything off about their skin or any blood from flakes. I'm not sure if they are still recovering from hydra or whether this is a whole new problem. I also introduced a dwarf gourami a week ago to help with the hydra. Although he has done nothing to help, he doesn't seem to be swimming erratically like the puffers. I have been testing the water daily and have had no problems with water parameters. temp is at 79 degrees. All hydra is currently gone from what I can tell, however, the puffers will not last very long I don't think as it has been 2 weeks of this. If anyone knows what the problems could be please let me know. I have attached videos and photos which are the best so trust me when I say they are swimming a lot worse than this.

1667248097085.png