AI v.s. Human

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TwoTankAmin

Fish Connoisseur
Reaction score
So all this Hoo Ha re AI got me thinking about exactly what AI seems to be and here is what I concluded.

Essentially, if any one of us wrote most anything that the AI spits out, we would be guilty of plagarism.

I read scientific papers. But I am not a scientist. So there is a limit to what I am able to do regarding the validity of the testing methodolgies involved. I have no idea what is the most up to date or the most accurate method of assessing genetic factors. I have to asked one of the PhDs out there to tell me me if the methodology used was the best and most accurate available or if it has been replaced by something better. I do not know if they used method A tha t method B would have bee better. There is no way for an AI to determine this.

Here is the best way I can put this. I have been cooking for over 60 years. I start with a recipe from a cook book like the Joy of Cooking. I make the dish and I try it, Because I know my way around a kitchen and i am familiar with ingredients, the next time I make the dish I will alter the ingredients some.

Taste is a subjective in terms of what I like you don't and vice versa. The AI cannot make a subjective judgement about how to improve a recipe so it tastes better. Because what tastes better to me tastes worse to you. And this gets more complicated. I love tomatoes, I love tomato sauce. This is not secret, so if the AI looked at how much I like and how often I consume tomatoes and tomato saucy things, it would conclude I love tomato soup. I don't. I never eat tomato soup because I really dislike the taste. But the AI would never figure this out.

As far as I can tell AI is just a fancy calculator. If it cannot find information in digital form, it cannot find it at all. It would require that information be entered by one of us actual intelligent beings.