African Cichlids Suitable For Beginner?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

jamesmacc

Fishaholic
Reaction score
hi all, i was browsing google for fish to keep in my 385l tank, i had always heard people say cichlids were aggresive so i never looked into them, until today! some pictures popped up of beautiful yellow and blue cichlids and now im hooked, they look amazing. i am new to tropical fish keeping, is keeping cichlids a big no no? or with some carefull planning would i be ok? i am putting alot of money into this and i will take alot of time and care with cleaning, water changes etc.
any opinions would be great, also any photos of suitable begginers fish would be great.
thanks, james

I would stick with peacock cichlids. When most people think and talk about Africans they are talking about mbunas, which are more aggressive than I care to deal with. It is hard to prevent problems with them long term. Peacock cichlids however are at least as colorful and not nearly as aggressive (but definitely still cichlids).
IMGP1032.jpg

IMGP1048.jpg

IMGP1113a.jpg

IMGP1436.jpg

pinkpeacocka.jpg

can all of these peacock cichlids be kept together or are some of them not compatible. no place near me stocks these sort of fish so i would have to mail order them

I have a 380L malawi/mbuna setup which houses both peacocks and mbuna, apart from one dominant male mpanga being top dog over the sub dom male I have no aggression in the tank at all, even when the dom has a go at the sub dom it`s not bad or nasty aggression. You could have a mix but as with all fish it may be a case of trial and error which is something a lot of us experience.

The 'most peaceful' mbunas that I have so far experienced are: elongatus neon spot, socolofi, yellow labs, white labs. Ndumbi red tops are nice but can be aggressive.