African Cichlid Die Off after Partial Water Change, Algae Treatment

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jskirwin

Reaction score
I've been keeping fish for 40 years, Africans for 20 and this just leaves me stumped.

Here's the situation:
60 gallon glass tank
12 2-3 inch assorted Malawians
Argonite substrate (rounded stuff from Petsmart - not fine sand).
Emperor 300 filtration
P.h 8.1-8.3
well water

This was my son's tank that he brought home from his apartment. He had difficulty getting it going but it was stable for 2 months before we moved it here. Brought the fish with 10 gals of water.
Set up the tank a month ago. Added the rest from our well (I have a 46 gal African tank that has been up and running for 5 years).

This was the first partial water change (10 gals) since the move.
Scraped off green algae from sides of tank with acrylic scrubber used on other tanks.
Rinsed off Emperor filters with hose.
Drained 10 gals of water. Did not vacuum substrate. Replaced with well water. Added 5 mils AlgaeFix.
Added 1/2 scoop of Proper PH 8.2.

Fish looked stressed last night so added 5 rounded tablespoons of Aquarium Salt.

This morning found 4 dead fish. Immediately removed 35 gals and replaced with well water. Add scoop of Proper PH8.2. In a panic added some TopFin water conditioner. Like I said, desperate.

Have lost 2 more fish.
One Yellow Lab buried himself 1/2 way into the argonite, so I pulled him out and put him in my 46 gal tank in a breeder box. I've never ever seen a fish do that before.

The water feels very soapy to me. I am planning to do another 50% water change in the morning.

What the heck have I done? I've never seen such a sudden die off like this. When I moved the fish a month ago I didn't lose a single one. Now I'm looking at killing off half the stock.