Advice On A 5 Gallon Tank As Main Tank And Breeding

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FishWithChips

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my second post. Put down my first post in the introduction section.

Attached is a picture of my current fish tank.

First of all, I will tell you a little bit of my fish-keeping experience. I had 8 goldfish about 15 years ago but they all died due to the overwhelming power of the filter and I never gave myself a second chance until recently. Watching fish keepers on YouTube few weeks ago piqued my interest in fish breeding.

Three days ago, I bought a 5 gallon tank not knowing it was 5 gallon at that time until I did more research on cycling, tank measurement, heating and etc. Basically, I now have the knowledge required for a total beginner and of course I need to keep developing. I woke up with a cloudy aquarium two days ago and got myself a test kit. Ammonia was at 0.5 ppm so I did a 40% water change and the picture attached showed my current tank. I just fed my fishes with quarter teaspoon of fish food. I do not wish to build up the ammonia level by overfeeding. I will let my tank cycle (with fish in it since I got them already) for at least 1 to 2 months.

However, I have been pondering on the question as to whether or not I can use my current 5 gallon tank with fish net for my future pregnant fishes or I should sell the 5 gallon and purchase a 10 gallon with fish net for the fry.

Note: I do not have much space in my room so I really wouldn't want to have 2 tanks. I am also hoping not to have to spend extra for the 10 gallon if it is possible to keep my 5 gallon. 

So guys, please advice. Thanks so much.

P.S I really love my fishes. They sleep with me and wake with me.

Your tank is overstocked already, I would not be attempting to breed anything although it will likely happen anyways from your platys and guppies.