Absolute Newbie Need Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

balajake

Fish Addict
Reaction score
I'm very into cichlids and keep Americans at the moment (sevs,Texas,dempseys, apistos) but for a while now I've had the itch to go into African cichlids. My Americans will be relocating to the kitchen and hopefully next week I can order my new ND 6x2x2.
I have the lights,starters etc t5 tubes
Ordered an ex1200 yesterday, I was going to order 2 but my first concern is that 2 ex1200s on a 6 foot African tank would not be enough so I would love opinions on that.

Was going to buy the Cichlid mix substrate and then Occasionally buffer with bicarbonate of soda when needed ? Kind of like black moon sand though so I'm torn

Stocking (wow)
This is where I fall on my bum. I have made a list of fish I like so far and your all probably going to laugh at me because its completely inappropriate and I'm being silly. Obviously once ordered I will have a fair few weeks to get these things straight. I want to get this right so I don't mind looking stupid before I've started haha. I kind of like the idea of Rarer cichlids, nothing wishy washy, strong colours that stand out. Possibly F1 good quality. Any help with good online retailers that produce and sell nice healthy fish would be a good help.

Anyway here goes, these are fish find attractive. Obviously I will do more research (shoot me down)

Pseudotropheus Saulosi Coral Red
Sciaenochromis fryeri Blue ice
Neolamprologus brichardi LAKE TANGANYIKA CICHLID Princess of Burundi ( could I get away with it ?)
Red peacock Cichlid
Melanochromis "Maingano cyaneorhabdos
Yellow lab
Aulonocara sp Calico Peacock Cichlid

Help me experts

Mixing Tangs, the brichardi ,and lake malawi cichlids will work as any fish from the same water parameters would work ,stick to fish from one lake is my advice ,N. b richardi have a rep for being evil so and so,s especially when breeding