A little under 1ppm ammonia after a 100% water change

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
So I did a massive water change to rid of nitrates. I ordered fish on Sunday and they will be here tomorrow! I tested the water after the water change and its a little under 1ppm. My water does have chlorine and ammonia in it but I add the API chemical the rids of chlorine AND chloramines... I just need help before adding fish... Im just really worried.
 

Fishmanic

The Boss Man
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
9,874
Reaction score
8,277
Location
Northeastern USA
hopefully it drops to 0 for both nitrites and nitrates tomorrow...and nitrates need to be less than 20ppm
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
hopefully it drops to 0 for both nitrites and nitrates tomorrow...and nitrates need to be less than 20ppm
Here are the results as of now... The nitrates are around 5-10 ppm... It appears darker in the photo. I may try to find that aqua essential stuff by API if I can...
0125221832.jpg
 

Naughts

Fish Gatherer
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
2,395
Reaction score
1,840
Location
UK
Do another large water change before adding fish, try not to disturb the substrate.
What is the aqua essentials stuff?
 

Fishmanic

The Boss Man
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
9,874
Reaction score
8,277
Location
Northeastern USA
and then you would have to do a very large water change and begin a fish in cycling with daily water changes as needed to keep nitrites and ammonia at 0
 
Last edited:

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,669
Reaction score
9,115
Location
CA
I will assume the OP is referring to the API Aqua Essential conditioner, here:

This seems to be a conditioner much like Seachem's Prime.

@Rocky998 are you still adding ammonia? And you have live plants don't you?
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
I will assume the OP is referring to the API Aqua Essential conditioner, here:

This seems to be a conditioner much like Seachem's Prime.

@Rocky998 are you still adding ammonia? And you have live plants don't you?
I have slow growing live plants and no after this water change I jave not added any ammonia. Yes that is the chemical I'm talking about
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
Do another large water change before adding fish, try not to disturb the substrate.
What is the aqua essentials stuff?
This is if the ammonia and nitrites are NOT 0 correct? I would hate to do another water change... And I cant wait on getring the fish... Their coming
 

Fishmanic

The Boss Man
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
9,874
Reaction score
8,277
Location
Northeastern USA
Even if ammonia and nitrite are 0 tomorrow, you should check it daily to be sure you are fully cycled. Do a large water change daily if levels are above 0.
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
Even if ammonia and nitrite are 0 tomorrow, you should check it daily to be sure you are fully cycled. Do a large water change daily if levels are above 0.
By large what do you mean? I cant do huge water changes with fish in there... Cause I have no where to put the fish...
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,669
Reaction score
9,115
Location
CA
Agree, if ammonia and nitrite are above zero. But...having said that, if you have chloramine added to you water, you will see ammonia but very low, usually around 0.25 and you cannot get past this. Use the conditioner mentioned above, it will detoxify the ammonia (prob by changing it to ammonium) but probably temporarily (if it is similar to Prime, which I suspect it is), but by then the plants and bacteria will easily handle it. Tests for ammonia will show ammonia and ammonium as "ammonia" throughout.

Re the water changes, provided the parameters (here we mean GH, pH and temperature) of the tap water and the tank water are reasonably identical, you can change as much water as you like with no harm. Leave the fish in the tank.
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
6,231
Reaction score
3,195
Location
NC, U.S.A
So, I will try getting that aqua essentials stuff OR prime... I'm just going to hope its all good.
 

Most reactions

trending

Members online

Top