70L - My First Planted Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

FingersofFish

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Okay so I'm new to the hobby, starting my first tank and wanting to keep a record of my progress and get others opinions and suggestions along with advice.

Started the tank running a few days ago, tank was planted last night and will be beginning full fish-less cycle today. Using natural gravel mixed with some resin gravel, with tropica planting substrate underneath. Decoration is natural rock and wood.

0d4475ea1cea620a3d0da77b4f7a53b5.jpg

Your tank is looking great and will look even better when the bacterial bloom disappears.
What filtration and heating are you using? Running the water temp at around 29° will speed up the cycle 
If you haven't already been, check the link at the end of my post for cycling help and feel free to ask any questions.
Just be aware that live plants can slow down the process as they will be competing with the bacteria for ammonia and nitrAtes but some say if you are going to have plants you might as well cycle with them in place and then there are no dramatic water parameter changes once cycled. The bacteria and plants will strike a happy balance eventually.

Thanks for the feedback. I upset the substrate a bit when adding water so for the first day there was a lot of muck!

Im using an aquael aqua comfort 100w heating, currently have it set to 24. Filtration is built in trickle filter above the tank 1200l/hour with 2 sponges and 2 carbon blocks underneath. Lighting is LED and I have running for 7hours a day at the moment.

I will turn my heating up if that will help and will be following your guide for cycling. I figured adding the plants first would be better for a first timer as I don't want any dramatic changes once the fish are in!