37 gl tank, how many fish I can put in!!!! 9 fishes now but the tank looks empty!!!

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Berksou

Reaction score
Dear all,

I am new to the hobby and very excited! I bought a 37 gl aquarium along with 3 silver dollars, 5 cory catfish and 1 flame dwarf gourami. I have been reading and testing my water for almost 3 weeks! Very interesting chemistry, I am still though waiting for my tank to fully cycle as I still have some ammonia.

My questions is: once my cycle finishes, I would like to add more activity to the tank. I am thinking to add 5 guppies and 3 snails to the group. Do you think this is too much for the tank size? The fish I have now are not very active :(

Before answering we need to know if you have soft or hard water.

If you have soft water, I would get more cories of the same species and a shoal of soft water fish rather than hard water guppies.

I would also return the silver dollars. They need to be in a group of at least 5 in a tank at least 6 feet long. They are big fish which will soon outgrow a 37 gallon tank.

Thank you Essjay for the reply!
Our tap water is very soft and the alkalinity (KH) is almost zero. I tried recently to add some crushed coral with the existing gravel, and hopefully this will stabilize my ph.

Do the silver dollars take time to grow? I cannot return them now but one of our local stores told me after a year (when they grow) bring them back for trade. I am not sure what to do....

Also, do you have suggestions for active fishes that can live in my water, maybe mollies or platties?

What about the gourami I feel it is lonly :(

The gourami is OK on his own - though a number of dwarf gouramis are infected with an incurable disease, so keep an eye on him just in case.