272L (71G) Lake Tanganyika Stocking Help

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

Klinge

Reaction score
Hello
I'm planning on doing a 71G Lake Tanganyika Biotope aquarium and I need help with some stocking :) (It should also be noted I'm new to the hobby and this will be my first aquarium as an adult!)
Right now I've planned the following:

2x Julidochromis Marlieri, 2x Neolamprologus leleupi, 2x Altolamprologus compressiceps, 2x Neolamprologus tretocephalus, 2x Altolamprologus calvus and 4x Synodontis multipunctatus.
So what I want to know is the following: Can these species live together and can I increase the number of some of the fish (Maybe increase one of them to 4 and remove one of the others). I've googled and what i came up with is that most of the requires large groups of 15-20 if you want more than a pair. Is this true for all of them or can i increase the number on some of them without stressing them out.

Is this to many fish? or can i actually fit more.

Also do you have any ideas for Chiclids i should look into instead some of them i've chosen? (Im not into shell dwelers)

Hope you'll can help me!

Cheers! :)

Iā€™ve kept cichlids but not Lake Tanganyiha cichlids, so Iā€™ll leave it to others to respond to your questions.
But a dGH of around 20 as mentioned in your other post is really very hard water. I imagine that itā€™s underground water rather than water from a lake or stream.

Iā€™m sure there are parts of lake Tanganyiha with that high a GH, but not the entire lake, so some fish from the Lake may have problem with the hardness.

Iā€™ve kept cichlids but not Lake Tanganyiha cichlids, so Iā€™ll leave it to others to respond to your questions.
But a dGH of around 20 as mentioned in your other post is really very hard water. I imagine that itā€™s underground water rather than water from a lake or stream.