200L / 53 US gallon

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

JLawson90

Reaction score
Stocking suggestions that go with tiger/green barbs please?

I've currently got a group of 12 of these, although will be upping this number to 17, most likely 17 anyway .. so that should curb their aggression somewhat

although I will still need fish that wont be targeted by them or indeed be easy victims.. suggestions?

I am not that experienced with aggressive fish but I will relate what is going on in one of my tanks. I have 5 semi-aggressive Gourami's (very large) and one aggressive Cichlid (unknown species the owner of the local pet shop convinced me she was a Gourami due to the "spot" on her side). The Gourami spend most of their time chasing each other and trying to prevent each other from having any time off to relax or eat - they don't bite, just a lot of bumping and chasing. Totally left out of the game is my Cichlid who spends her day hiding in a tree trunk cave (so glad I bought that) or risked being chased and attacked constantly by all my Gourami's. She is more of a bottom feeder so she gets plenty to eat and defends her territory quite well - but what a lonely, stressful life.

It just seems to me that when you have so many tiger barbs and even plans to increase that number - then why not just have a single species tank rather than take the risk of injuring other fish you might try to add. The guidelines of what is supposed to be peaceful vs aggressive (and how aggressive) is not cut in stone - you might risk having a very unhappy situation going if you add fish even deemed "compatible"