200 Litre Tank Upstairs?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Silvertip

Reaction score
I'm completely new to the hobby, have been learning everything for the past few months from fishless cycling to beginners aquascaping.

Due to move house in February so unfortunately will have to wait until then until I can put planning into practice but this will give me a good chance to learn as much as possible first.

I have decided on a Fluval Roma 200 litre aquarium however have just suddenly realised....

Can I have this aquarium in an upstairs house? Would this be safe?

I cant imagine it would weigh more than furniture etc but I'm unsure now?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

It should be fine I have my 350l and 180l upstairs

Thanks blackops

I'm thinking it can't be any worse weight-wise than heavy furniture. And i don't really want to go any smaller than 200 litres.

Try to make sure it is resting on as many floorboards as possible. If that makes sense.

I have a 200l upstairs with no problems, you might want to do some research into what kind of floor you have etc. It also helps to put the tank in the corner of the room near structural walls.

Thanks guys

Thanks Tuxyu3.

I've also had a look on web and they say the same thing.

I've decided to put it in the corner in the inside wall which I thought would be best. The house is a four-in-a-block with me upstair left side if that makes sense.

yes thats ok as long as it goes across the joists. im sure that be fine but not sure anything over 75gallons would work it feels a bit risky but anything below 75g i would trust.

Thanks a lot for all your help guys.

I really appreciate it.