Sponge Filters and Ammonia for Cycling

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Coolysd

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey y'all 👋

So I will be setting up 5 & 10gal tanks soon (within about a month or so) and was wondering if it would be okay to run a couple of small sponge filters in my 75gal tank to be transferred to help with cycling. I was also thinking about the same with some decor as well. Thoughts?

I plan on doing fishless cycling and so I purchased some ammonia (see pic). Is this the right kind? I really don't have a clue.

All if this is new to me, any and all recommendations and directions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!😁

Edit: These are the filters I have (which I have never used before), is the there anything in particular I need to do to them prior to installing them?

Attachments

• 16662346698696556814516319398777.jpg
    16662346698696556814516319398777.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 35
  • Screenshot_20221019_193424.jpg
    Screenshot_20221019_193424.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:
Running filters in an established tank can seed the media but will not totally cycle them for a whole tankful of fish. The amount of bacteria in a cycled tank remains constant. Some will die and be replaced by others, but the total number stays the same provided the numbers of fish etc also remain constant. Putting extra media in a tank does not mean more bacteria will grow. But after a few weeks, some bacteria will establish in the extra media.
If you then move them into another tank and do a fishless cycle to grow more bacteria, that will probably go faster as you would be starting with some bacteria in the sponges.

As for the ammonia, does it list the ingredients on the bottle? If not, shake the bottle and see if bubbles form. Long lasting foam-like bubbles means it contains detergent; large bubbles which burst quickly mean it's OK to use.