Sick Goldfish - Seeking Assistance with Diagnosis

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Jaes

Reaction score
I need urgent advice for a sick goldfish. It's a bit of a messy situation and there are no local fish vets available.

I moved a sick goldfish from my parent's pond to a 60L hospital tank. She has a swollen abdomen, red patches on her face and near the base of some fins, and her one eye has less visible sclera than the other. Though her behavior and appetite seem normal, I'm no expert. Unfortunately, she's been this way for months, as my parents hoped she would recover by herself. I suspected dropsy, but the local pet shop ruled it out, considering the timeframe. They suggested she might be egg-bound, but isn't that fatal by now?

I initially had some ammonia issues with the new setup, so I've been doing daily water changes with pond water. I want to help her swiftly, so I can return her to the healthier and roomier pond. I've adjusted her diet, now feeding her veggies and pellets thrice daily, and raised the water temperature to 23°C. I've heard Epsom salt might alleviate swelling, but I'm hesitant without a clear diagnosis.

pH stands at 7.4, and the tank and pond show no nitrite, nitrate, or ammonia (thanks to daily changes). Excuse the picture quality, taking pictures of fish is hard. Apologies if my Reddit formatting isn't great — I'm not a regular user.

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Attachments

• body.jpeg
    body.jpeg
    116.9 KB · Views: 7
  • weird_eye.jpeg
    weird_eye.jpeg
    121.1 KB · Views: 8
What does the fish's poop look like?

Dropsy causes the fish to bloat/ swell up (get really fat) overnight and the scales on the side of the body usually stick out from the body. Fish with dropsy usually stop eating. If the fish is eating well and has been fat for several months it is not dropsy.