Scared Lil Fishies

wolvie89

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I am new to owning fishes but I've googled and asked many people before actually getting one set up. I have two fish.. One is an angelfish and the other is a small red tail shark.  They are both scared and always hiding and while I understand they may be scared, I am just worried that they aren't eating.

Here are more details:
- i checked the water before adding fish and had the tank sitting and cycling for over a week before i added the first fish (the angel)
- i also added some snails to get the bacteria going
- angelfish was scared and kept hiding in the corner near the heater. Sometimes when i was far i would see him swimming about then as soon as i approached again he would retreat back into his lil corner (lol)
- i put fish food in and walked away..when i came back the snails were all over it
- i wasn't sure if he had eaten so i dropped a few more flakes on top of where he was hiding...

4 days later i got the lil red tailed shark
- this lil guy i think is scared because he's so little and the angel looks scary (and so do i)
- i see him swimming around every now and then but not much...he's usually hiding
- I changed from flakes to the tablets that drop to the bottom of the tank..this just changed into mush
- i have no idea if the angel OR the shark even had a bite of it before the snails got to it...

It is now 3 days after that - 

- angel fish is still in his lil corner sulking
- i did 2 water changes in the last 4 days because i was scared that the food i was dropping in was rotting and poisoning the water
- I still dont know if anyone apart from the snails are actually eating anything...

Is there anything i can do?

I would love some help on this please :D
Thank you so much