Remodeling The Haven - Stiphodon Sanctuary

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

LordHappy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Happy day!

In May I am going to start construction on my most ambitious aquarium project since 1989, when I opened an aquarium store inside a department store in Columbia, MD. I am going to be remodeling The Haven (I really don't understand why my wife insists on calling it my playroom, but that's more of a her problem, and not a me problem), which is basically going to do double duty as a home office and a fish room. For this thread, my questions are about build ideas for a 50g. The tank is 36x18x18.

Filtration
I was going to do the river manifold system seen around the web. I am an expert at making piles of debris....my favorite tools are the 9lb hammer, a crowbar and a sawzall, none of which are really the right kind of tools for building a river manifold system. Fortunately, I live near to a Home Depot that has lots of immigrants looking for work, so I'll pay a few bucks to have one cut the PVC and assemble it. My plan was to use Krylon spray paint to make it black.

Question: Is there any reason not to glue the whole thing together? I figure if there's any sort of problem, I'm going to have to dismantle the whole tank anyway to fix it.
Question: Is Krylon spray paint going to last and resist flaking? Perhaps I could find black PVC....
Question: According to the lore, I'll need to cycle 10x-15x, so 500-750gph. At the risk of causing a dispute, which is always fun as a bystander, does the group have a preference for a powerhead brand?
Question (edited): I am not setting up a canister filter. I could be persuaded to keep an Aquaclear 300 or whatever their big HoB is now called as I have a few available. As I will have sponge filters, is the extra filtration really necessary?