Platy swimming at top of tank head up, very frantic

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

BOBJOESIM

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I've been keeping platies for the last 5 months, started out with 7 and some died along the way. One seemingly was weak from the start, and got REALLY bloated to the point that all the scales were raised on his body and he died. I didn't have any problems except after 2 months where two of my platies died out of the blue...no symptoms, ammonia at zero (do not have a testing kit for that but I believe since my aquarium is well planted it should take care of it), well oxygenated water (plants and airstone), heater at 78 degrees, and feeding flakes everyday, sometimes bloodworms. Today I noticed one of my platies swimming quite a lot at the surface (not all the time but a majority), she seems to have lost some weight however her stool is perfectly normal. I also noticed one of her top fins seemed a bit damaged (a little indent, looks like something from a nip), and her belly is a little whiter than usual, although I'm not sure if that may be because of her loss of weight. She does eat however, perhaps not as much.

WIN_20161111_21_43_46_Pro.jpg

First off we need to know your water parameters
Nitrate, Nitrite, Ph, Ammonia, alkalinity.

Secondly, you feed them every day? How much a day, just a pinch or enough to have food float to the bottom? Do you vacuum the gravel to get any uneaten food/poop? Having plants doesn't mean an instant cycled tank.

ammonia at zero (do not have a testing kit for that but I believe since my aquarium is well planted it should take care of it),