Overwhelmed with conflicting advice - help please!!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kim1980

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to fish keeping. I purchased a Panorama 40L from my local Petssmart at their advice with the thoughts on keeping cold temperate fish as was advised quite hardy for beginners. So I go home and set up the tank - plant a couple of live plants and let the tank settle for 7-10 days. I then take the water for testing and once that's ok'd I purchase x4 platys. I leave the tank approx 10 days and do my first water change (approx 10%). The next day my largest platy starts loitering around the filter. So the day after I take my water for testing again and they confirm traces of ammonia. I was instructed to do another water change and leave to settle for a week before testing water again. So I do another 10% water change and following some internet googling propped the lid up overnight to try and let the gases escape. I wake up this morning to find him covered in white spot. So off to the pet shop again I was advised to use a white spot treatment which involves two doses one today and then at day 4. No water changes during this time and I have removed th carbon filter bit whilst treating.

So far none of the other fish seem affected. I have decreased my feeding from twice a day to a tiny bit once a day.

I am concerned that the ammonia will build up to too high levels whilst I am treating the white spot that I'll lose all fish.

Has anyone experience this and if so can you lend me any advice please? I brought the fish as a birthday pressie for my kids so they'll be devestated if we lost any, considering we'd thought we'd followed all the advise to be successful. Obviously from further research I assume I am having a case of new tank syndrome. Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to give.

First thing, welcome to TFF.