Novice Setup

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

4k_Mollies

Reaction score
Good Morning to all... I am a novice when it come to this aquarium and fish hobby. My neighbor sold me his tank for cheap after he had neglected the tank with ciclids, a blue lobster and some kind of pleco for a week. All the fish died after he move them to my place. I have taken some time to research and started a new cycle and bought five new fish which I believe are mollies. I need to the a receipt to see what kinds they are. This is going to be community tank and any suggestion or advise will be help. Honestly I am not sure what I need to have in there forgot the size of the tank

Hi,

The first thing to do is find a tape measure and let us know the dimensions of the tank. From those we can work out the volume. The volume and length of the tank are both important.

The next thing is to find out how hard your tap water is. That should be somewhere on your water company's website. We need the number and the unit (they could use any one of half a dozen different units) Water can be very soft to very hard, and we need to keep fish that have evolved in water with the same hardness as our tap water. For example, your mollies need hard to very hard water and will suffer if kept in soft water.

Once we know the size of your tank and hardness of your tap water we'll be able to help with future fish.

Do you have a test kit? It sounds as though you are doing a fish-in cycle so you need to be able to monitor ammonia and nitrite daily, and do a water change whenever you see either above zero.

And finally, a word of warning. Do not believe anything a shop says until you have researched it for yourself. There are good shop workers out there, but there are not many of them. Most of them are only interested in making a sale and will say any rubbish.

Hi