Not enough time for a fishless cycle

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Nelly

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to fish keeping and am taking it up because my 4 year old is fascinated by fish and wanted to get some for his birthday (which is next week). When I spoke to the person in the shop, they said a tank should be set up at least 24 hours before the fish go in but now I've read that it should be cycled before the fish go in and that would take 4-8 weeks.

Since my son's birthday is next week, I don't have time to do a full fishless cycle before getting the fish but would it be worth setting it up as soon as possible so it's part way through the cycle or would that be worse for the fish than going into an un-cycled tank? If it's relevant, we're getting 3 mollies in a 58L tank and are intending to plant live plants into the tank as well.

Thank you in advance for any help and advice you can give me!
Nel

Hi,

I am new to fish keeping and am taking it up because my 4 year old is fascinated by fish and wanted to get some for his birthday (which is next week). When I spoke to the person in the shop, they said a tank should be set up at least 24 hours before the fish go in but now I've read that it should be cycled before the fish go in and that would take 4-8 weeks.

Since my son's birthday is next week, I don't have time to do a full fishless cycle before getting the fish but would it be worth setting it up as soon as possible so it's part way through the cycle or would that be worse for the fish than going into an un-cycled tank? If it's relevant, we're getting 3 mollies in a 58L tank and are intending to plant live plants into the tank as well.

Thank you in advance for any help and advice you can give me!
Nel
i think if you put the live plants in and add some ammonia that will speed the cycle up

Hi Nel and welcome to the forum :)