New to Tropical fish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jackreeman2

Reaction score
Hi, I have kept coldwater fish before, but this is my first time keeping tropical fish.

I have had the tank running since Saturday evening, I have used API Startup kit to kickstart my biological cycle, this treatment is to be used day 1, 14 and 28.
Having left the tank since Saturday, I added the gravel and decorations in Sunday night as this is when I had time to do so.

So we move on to today (Monday), I noticed the water in the tank is slightly cloudy so this prompted me to get some 5 in 1 test strips which I used just now, the results were:

- GH - 180
- Kh - 120 to 180
-PH - 7.0
- NO2 - 0
-NO3- 40-80

Can people please offer some advice on the above results, as I know that the GH and KH is too high for most tropical fish.

Will the cloudiness settle? Along with the GH and KH?
How long should I realistically be waiting before putting fish in?
Should I be purchasing anything to help it along?

All comments will be greatly appreciated!

Jack

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Welcome to TFF, and to the "tropical" side of the hobby.

The cloudiness is normal and nothing to be concerned about. It is one of two things, or both. Sediment from the substrate when new or from the tap water can occur; this will settle out. More likely this cloudiness is a bacterial bloom, which will dissipate though it may take more or less days to do so. There are many different species of bacteria in an aquarium; most of us are familiar with the nitrifiers, that deal with the "cycle" of ammonia to nitrite to nitrate, but these are just one type. There are different bacteria that eat organics, and this is what usually causes the cloudiness. Tap water can be quite high in dissolved organics, and the bacteria that eat these can multiply very rapidly, especially by comparison to the nitrifying species.