New, Confused, And Terrified

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

dasfeeshcurry

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm new to both this forum and aquariums, and I need your help! My husband has wanted a tank for years, and while his dream is coming true, we've hit an obstacle that he didn't see coming. We set up our tank on Monday night (4 days ago). Yesterday (day 3) the water was cloudy, whereas it had been crystal clear. I found this forum by chance while researching, and read about cycling. From what I understand, the cloudiness is natural, a "bacterial bloom". What I don't understand is how to clear it up and/or help it along.

So, here's a little information about the tank:
10 gallons
No fish, as of yet.
No live plants.
Tank was filled with lukewarm tap water (read at about 84 degrees initially, but is now down to 74/75)
Water was treated with AquaSafe (dechlorinates and conditions, 2 teaspoons/10 gallons, per manufacturer's instructions.)
Everything was rinsed in cold water, including the tank itself, before setup.
A "Jungle 5-in-1" test strip revealed:
    0 Nitrates
    0 Nitrites
    GH of 150ppm
    KH of 180ppm
    pH of 8.4

A separate ammonia test kit (same brand) shows an ammonia level of 6.0.

So my questions are:

1. Do I leave the tank alone and let it sort itself out?

2. What is the quickest way to make the tank safe and fish-ready? How long, on average, does it take?

3. If I do need to take action to help, what is recommended?

4. Once the initial "cycle" is through, will it happen again, even if only partial water changes are done?

5. We also have a male Betta in a separate tank. I've read that you can use water from an established aquarium to help the cycle. Does his tank count as established? (Complete water changes every 2 weeks or so, depending on condition of water. Water is distilled with conditioning added.) And if so, how much of his water should be used?