Need recommendations for a pest-eating nano fish

KatNor21

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a 5.5gal shrimp tank that is overrun with pests. I have flatworms and detritus worms all over the glass, plus little white specks that dart around, and some grammarus or something living in the sand. Mostly I just want to get rid of the worms. It's really hard not to overfeed the tank as it's heavily planted and the shrimp don't eat that much. I'm trying to improve though but I'm a beginner shrimp keeper.

Tank details: NO nitrites, nitrates, ammonia, or chlorine. GH 75-150ppm, KH 50ppm, pH about 6.8.
Plants: lots of pearl weed, hydrocotyle japan, dwarf hairgrass. Going to add a water sprite as well. I have about 20 shrimp - red rilis and orange cherry. Population is also growing. I have a couple caves for them to hide in as well and fine, sand-like gravel.

What nano fish will eat the worms and tiny critters, and also keep the shrimp population in check, but won't decimate them? Some ideas I had were a single scarlet badis, small group of chili rasboras, a pea puffer? Any ideas would be great.

I was going to say puffer but I think it would kill your shrimp outright. Badis could be a good choice they are a micro predator, infact the longer I think about it they are the best option :) Any of them will work red, blue or tigers, I like the tigers best, coloured up one of the best fish around IMO.

Only other thing I was thinking was a Peacock Goby but think the Badis would be better and feel a trio would be achievable too.

Wills

Just reduce feeding and do a big water change and gravel clean the substrate every day for a week. Or take the tank apart and wash it all out, then set it back up.

Last edited: