Need help!!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lala80

Reaction score
Hi there, my name is Laura I'm new to the fish forum so I wanted to introduce myself.but also hopefully get some advice as I am also new to caring for fish. I have a 30 gallon freshwater tank and noticed yesterday a gemale guppy had a white snout. Now this morning most of them do! I've been treating water w capful of fishkeeper 1x a day but dont want to lose them! Should I separate them, is it mouthrot or ick, do they need something special or are they doomed?!

20180527_135106.jpg

Hi and welcome. That fish has clamped fins which is usually a sign of poor water quality. I don't know what is in "fishkeeper" but my personal suggestion is not to use it until we know what is wrong with your fish and what is in the medication.
Start with a 50-75% water change. Treat the water with dechlorinator using the dosage on the bottle and ensure the water is a similar temperature to your tank water. Go easy on the feeding (every other day is enough) and continue changing 50% of the water at least every other day for the short term.

It would be really useful to provide the following information:

Tank size:
pH:
ammonia:
nitrite:
nitrate:
kH:
gH:
tank temp:

Fish Symptoms (include full description including lesion, color, location, fish behavior):

Volume and Frequency of water changes:

Chemical Additives or Media in your tank:

Tank inhabitants:

Recent additions to your tank (living or decoration):

Exposure to chemicals:

Please also read http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/421488-cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first

Right now the absolute priority is clean fresh water, which is the best medication for any fish.

How long has the tank been set up for?

What else is in the tank?

How long have you had the guppies for?