Need help after replacing new filter.

Angb200

Reaction score
Hello.
Im not a complete beginner but I need help.
I had to replace my external filter and therefore my aquarium is recycling.
My aquarium is roughly 300 litres. Inside are 4 angels, 3 filament barbs, 4 doplo cat fish and 1 rummie nose.
I did place a bit of media from my old filter in the new one but obviously not enough.
Ive got the ammonia right down to 0 (they were really high) but my nitrites are at approximately 3 now. They were 2 yesterday. I just spoke to the fish shop and theyā€™ve told me to leave it now for 3/4 days. Iā€™ve been doing roughly 20% and 40% water changes on alternate days for a good few weeks now. Iā€™ve also cut feeding them right back. I donā€™t feed them a lot anyway, I never have done.

Iā€™ve always done a fishless cycle so Iā€™ve not worried that much about the numbers but because Iā€™ve fish in there, Iā€™m more worried.
The shop I use are pretty good but Iā€™m worried about leaving it with the nitrites so high. The fish seem all ok and no signs of stress.
Ive been fighting this since the beginning of September. Any advice would be greatly received.

You need to do a water change whenever ammonia or nitrite are above zero. These are killers. Ignore what the shop says, they are notorious for giving bad advice.

Using Seachem Prime water conditioner will help. This detoxifies both ammonia and nitrite for around 24 hours and will protect the fish from rising levels until the next day's water change.

Do you have any live plants in the tank? Plants take up ammonia and don't turn it into nitrite. It's possible to use live plants to take up all the ammonia so none is turned into nitrite, leaving just the current nitrite to be removed. Floating plants or stem plants like elodea left to float will help. Even if they don't take up all the ammonia, they'll reduce the amount being turned into nitrite.

Thank you for the reply. Yes, I thought I should carry on with the water changes.