Juwel Rio 180L

Duck and Dive

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I had this tank planted before but I didnt go to plan so I am going to re-do it. I really like Aarons 216L planted tank as it would look good with my shoal of corys at the bottom. I like the idea of the river looking tanks so I am going to go with that idea in mind. I am not sure on what plants, fish or decor to put in it as I am quite new to the planted side, when I first got this tank I decided to do a planted set up but that went a bit wrong! These are the specs of the tank:

Filtration

Juwel Bioflow 600Lph
Superfish Aqua Pro external 900Lph
Juwel 200w heater 25oC

Which means a turnover of 8.3x per hour.

Co2

5L of yeast Co2 with pump diffuser
Tetra Co2 Depot

Lighting

2x 45w T5

Fish

8x Bronze Corydoras
25x Preacox Rainbowfish

Plants

5x Bylxa Japonica
10x Crypt Wendtii
5x Glossostigma Elantinoides
5x Aponogeton Crispus
5x Java Moss
5x Mexican Fern Oakleaf
10x Lilaeopsis Brasiliensis
5x Giant Japanese Rush

Decor

Some river looking wood and rocks like sumatra wood, i really dont know!
Substrate will be a light brown colour ADA malaya or something similar.

So anyone got any good suggestions for plants and decor for a river style tank as I am pretty new to this!
Thanks in advance :) !

The hardscape (with water and a couple of plants) I had to do this full of water as I did not want to move the corydoras and yes they have spawned everywhere so excuse the eggs, oh also the pics are quite bad as My camera broke:D !

Aponogeton Crispus
18082010035.jpg

18082010036.jpg

18082010037.jpg

The Giant Japanese Rush now added at the background, they came through the post looking really good but were a nightmare to keep their roots buried in the gravel:

18082010042.jpg

18082010043.jpg

Then added the Bylxa Japonica, Lilaeopsis Brasiliensis, Mexican Fern Oakleaf, Java Moss some Crypt Wendtii and finally Glossostigma Elantinoides:

18082010046.jpg

Now a few close ups:

18082010048.jpg

18082010049.jpg