The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Reaction score
I am planning to buy an aquarium for following fishes:

3 Red tailed black variatus ( 3 inches each)
3 Balloon belly molly (3 inches each)
3 Glofish (2 inches each)

Is 36 inches tank enough (40 gallons enough), considering I have to decorate the tank with plants and other assortments?
The dimensions of a tank is - 36'' L x 18'' W x 16'' H

Also, do you think these fishes get along with each other? 

And, I'm totally new at this, so how do I manage pH levels and whatever?

Help!

3 Red tailed black variatus ( 3 inches each) - Red Tailed Black Shark? If so - NO. They are highly territorial with their own species and I was recommended a 48in tank for one let alone 3
confused.gif

3 Balloon belly molly (3 inches each) - What genders? You need a 3:1(F:M) ratio with all livebearers.
3 Glofish (2 inches each) - You need more than 3 Glofish as they are a shoaling species so you need 6 minimum but in a 36in you could get 8-10 of them
smile.png

There you go
smile.png

Edit: Or are the Red Tailed Black Variatus platies? If so then the same rule applies as the balloon mollies :)

Were you aware Glofish are genetically modified fish? :S

Ninjouzata said:

Thank you!
Paradise3 said:

3 Red tailed black variatus ( 3 inches each) - Red Tailed Black Shark? If so - NO. They are highly territorial with their own species and I was recommended a 48in tank for one let alone 3
confused.gif

3 Balloon belly molly (3 inches each) - What genders? You need a 3:1(F:M) ratio with all livebearers.
3 Glofish (2 inches each) - You need more than 3 Glofish as they are a shoaling species so you need 6 minimum but in a 36in you could get 8-10 of them
smile.png

There you go
smile.png

Edit: Or are the Red Tailed Black Variatus platies? If so then the same rule applies as the balloon mollies
smile.png