How did they break in..

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Haywire

Reaction score
I love a vague yet curiosity-evoking title; it really gets the clicks!

I am a novice to fish keeping and currently trying to set up a safe aquarium to home 2 fantail goldfish (relying entirely on the internet for information). During this process, I have made efforts to ensure that the aquarium only homes a pair of goldfish...as I type this there is a colony of little white things that I hope to be copepods swimming about and at least 2 snails. After a change of heart, I actually do welcome the critters providing they don't have the intention of aquarium domination. I'm making this thread with the hope that someone could identify the invaders and after some insight explains to me where they could have come from because it beats me.

Some Insight
I first set up the aquarium a while ago and bought plants from the pet shop. I adhered to the excellent advice of the pet store employee when he told me that "the plants will get all the nutrients they need from the water, don't worry about adding anything". Surprisingly, the plants started to die, algae bloomed and bladder snails began taking over. I took everything apart, threw away the plants and gravel and left the tank, rocks/decor, and filter media to dry out. After waiting a month, I cleaned the tank with a vinegar solution and replaced some of the filter media. Then, I added new decorative gravel and re-added the old decorations and rocks (which had been dried out for a month and bathed in very hot water. I bought some tissue culture plants which supposedly are snail free along with liquid carbon and fertilization. A month later (today), I notice the critters.

Expensive box of water:
IMG_0934.JPG

White Swimmy Things:
IMG_0938.JPG