Hi Everyone

rosehartwell

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to keeping marine fish so apologies if I don't make sense! I picked my tank up last night(orca TL550) and so far have just put it in position. I ve read in a few places that I ll more than likely need to add a powerhead as the one supplied on tank isn't up to the job? any advice would really be appreciated! Also I d really like to have a blue backing on the tank but as its a nano it would obviously be on the inside of the tank, not sure if its even possible to do this? Hopefully buying a RO unit later, any advice on a good one would be great. Really looking forward to the whole process and just hoping I ve done enough reading to get me started!! Thanks for reading, Rose

If you wish to change the back to blue on a TL 550 I would get some blue Acrylic sheet cur it to shape then glue it to the Black one :)

If you are refering to the Orca Return pump in the back these are quiet week I upgraded mine to a newjet 1200 was a lot better or if you mean a circulation ump I would opt for 2 x Koralia K1s these will do the job nicely (There is a new gen of Koralias but not seen them myself might be worth a look they are amsller by all accounts)

look on flea bay at

HYDOR KORALIA NANO 1600 POWERHEAD EVOLUTION RANGE 1

Thanks Morri! Nice to have someone who knows what they re talking about! I meant the circulation pump, its difficult to know where to start to be honest! Just had a look on ebay and found the koralia 1600 at what seems like a fairly reasonable price. Do you think it matters what type of glue I use to stick the backing on? Thanks again, really appreciate you taking the time to help. :rolleyes:

I would just use aquarium safe silicon because if you change your mind you can just peel it off :)

You could just opt for a single K2 but tbh with 2 you can get better flow across your LR which is all good.