HELP NEEDED: BETTAS, NEONS

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Dannys111

Reaction score
I'm new to the hobby and have got a 37L heated tank.

The local tropical fish store is highly rated and the staff in there are knowledgeable enough.

Today I introduced 8 'large' Neons, 2 female bettas and one male betta into the tank. This was recommended to me by the staff in the store. I have now read online that this isn't great - males attack both females and Neons.

I need some advice on what to do - do I take the male back? No deaths have occurred yet, but if I do have to take the male back, I need a recommendation of a nice, beautiful fish to go in the aquarium.

Thanks in advance

I'm sorry you've been given such awful advice :(

If you can, I would recommend you return all the fish, except the male betta.

Whilst female bettas can live together, unlike the males, it does need to be in a largish group; five or seven usually. That's because, even though the females are more peaceful than the males, they can be aggressive, and need lots of other fish to bicker with; in a small group or pair, the stronger fish can bully the weaker ones.

Neon tetras, although they're often classed as peaceful fish, can be quite nippy in smaller numbers and your tank isn't big enough for a proper shoal, and they do need quite a lot of swimming room; a two foot/60l is the smallest tank I'd want to see neons in.

I'm sorry you've been given such awful advice :(

If you can, I would recommend you return all the fish, except the male betta.

Whilst female bettas can live together, unlike the males, it does need to be in a largish group; five or seven usually. That's because, even though the females are more peaceful than the males, they can be aggressive, and need lots of other fish to bicker with; in a small group or pair, the stronger fish can bully the weaker ones.