hello... i'm new!!!

shinydemon

Reaction score
-_-
hey.. i'm pretty new to the word of tropical fish... i've been given a set up by my mate, but unfortunately the 10 fish that came with it didn't survive past the next day :(
so i cleaned out the tank, and set it up, and left it running for over a week, and have just bought 3 fish..
a plecostomas, and albino plecostomas, and a feather fin synodontis.
the pleco didn't last til the end of the first day, i've just come back after being away overnight, and the albino plec has died :sad:
the synodontis is still ok though, but i'm taking the other 2 back to the shop tomorrow.. gonna get the water tested as well.. just in case!
so it's not going so well! :-(

:hi: to the forums.

Have you read up on cycling your tank? There is a pinned thread in the begginers questions forum that is a must for new fish keepers. A week really is not a long time and its not just a case of leaving the tank running. Anyway, read the pinned post and sorry to hear of your loss, those were some nice fish.

HTH

Jon

p.s. Dont forget if you ask q's in the begginers section, include your tank size/capacity equipment used and preferably water perameters ammonia/nitrAte/nitrIte.

Welcome to the fish forum. Sorry to hear of your problems, I didn't cycle my first tank either, but all my fish survived. I still have one. Do go to the beginners forum for more suggestions, there are plenty of knowledgeable people to help you.

Hi shinydemon and :hi: to the forum! This is a great place for advice and information! :D

I'm sorry to hear about your fish loss. :sad:

Welcome to the forums shinydemon. As some of the others said, your tank needs to cycle first(build up beneficial bacteria) so the water is safe for your fish. Your previous fish most likely died of ammonia poisioning, a end product that occurs in the Nitrogen cycle. Read HERE to learn more about cycling. Definitely dont buy anymore fish until you do this.

:huh: